Healthy Chicken Tikka Masala

Finally! Chicken Tikka Masala is one of my favorite dishes. I hardly eat it because it’s not very healthy when I get it at restaurants and I could never quite get it right when I tried to make it at home. Well, that’s over with this recipe. Not only is it healthy, but it is so incredibly yummy and takes less than 30 minutes to make. Some of the spices are not typical pantry items, but you can probably find them at your grocery or local farmer’s market (that’s where I get mine). This would probably be really good with boneless chicken thighs. Let me know if you try it!

  • 2 tsp canola oil
  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 1 tbsp fresh ginger, minced
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 1/2 cups crushed tomatoes
  • 4 oz fat free Greek yogurt (I used Chobani)
  • 1/2 cup 2% milk
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tbsp chili powder
  • salt to taste
  • 16 oz chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 4 tbsp fresh cilantro (or to taste)

Heat oil in a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Add the onions and cook until golden. Add the crushed ginger, stir for a few minutes then add the garlic and cook another minute. Add cumin, garam masala, turmeric, chili powder, and salt. Mix well until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Stir in tomatoes, yogurt and milk. Simmer on low heat until sauce thickens, about 10 minutes. Add chicken and simmer for 15 – 20 minutes or until cooked through. Add a generous amount of chopped cilantro and serve with rice.

4 comments

  1. Leesa

    Hi Aysha,
    I am going to try your delicious recipe! It is also one of my favorites. I teach kindergarten and last year I taught a girl from India. Her mom and I liked to share recipes and one day she brought me a surprise…from Costco, believe it or not. A prepackaged “chicken tikka masala” and it is fantastic!!! Just heat it up and serve over rice. I would never have tried it if she hadn’t brought it to me, now I always have a few in my freezer. Give it a try and have a happy life!
    Leesa

  2. Christina

    So I JUST learned about this when I went to an Indian resaturant for the first time with my new “friend” I think he’d be super impressed if I can make it! i’ll try it out and let you know how it goes :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

