Baked Oatmeal

I’ve said before that I’m not a breakfast person…not that I don’t enjoy eating it, I just don’t like making it. Regardless, I eat breakfast everyday without fail. I also work out in the morning so my energy level is so low that I have to get something healthy in my system. Whatever I make HAS to simple, easy, and no fuss. Traditional oatmeal annoys me. It seems I have to constantly stir it, it’s never quite the “right” consistency. I ended up with mush or unevenly cooked oats. The perfect solution – baking it! Just mix everything in, pop it in the oven, and walk away for 20 minutes.

Below is my go-to baked oatmeal recipe. It’s easy enough to adjust to your taste – add blueberries or nuts, use more cinnamon, flaxseed, ooh coconut might be good. It also reheats really well so I’ll probably make a large pan of it in the future and then warm it up during the rest of the week.

  • 2 cups uncooked old fashioned oats
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 heaping tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 2 tbsp cranberries
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1-1/2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350°.

Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Combine the milk, applesauce, butter, egg, and vanilla in a separate bowl. Add milk mixture to oat mixture and stir well.

Pour oat mixture into an 8-inch square baking dish coated with cooking spray. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

