Chicken Thighs with Shallots in Red Wine Vinegar

*adapted from skinnytaste*

Yesterday was far more eventful than I ever would have liked. I was pulling out of my parking garage at work at night while it was raining when a skateboarding coming down the hill hit my car! It was absolutely terrifying and I must have sat in shock for at least a minute before I decided I needed to get up and move. In any case, he ended up only getting a little bruised although he did a complete 180 over the hood of my car. Well, to relax I ended up making this dish with one of my favorite sauces.

  • 8 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • salt and pepper 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 cup fat free chicken broth
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 large shallot, thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 2 tbsp sour cream
  • 2 tbsp fresh chopped parsley

Season chicken with salt and pepper.

In a medium saucepan, combine vinegar, honey, 3/4 cup chicken broth and tomato paste. Boil until it reduces down to about 3/4 cup. Remove from heat.

In a large skillet, melt butter over medium heat and add chicken. Cook on both sides until brown, about 6-8 minutes. Remove chicken and set aside. Add the shallots and garlic to the skillet and cook on low until soft, about 5 minutes. Add the chicken back to the skillet. Pour the sauce over the chicken, add the wine, and remaining broth. Cover and simmer about 20 minutes until tender.

Remove the chicken, add sour cream and stir into the sauce. Boil a few minutes then return chicken to skillet. Top with fresh parsley.

*I served with roasted asparagus to keep it simple and delicious.

Leave a Reply

