Guest Post: Amber’s Rosemary-Tupelo Honey Tilapia

By Amber Hampton

Travel often leaves me longing for the familiar.  My most recent trip has me excited to be back in my own bed and rummaging through my kitchen.  What makes this return to the kitchen extra special, is my souvenir.  I brought a bunch of fresh rosemary home from my trip, and the whole way home, I pondered what glorious morsel would benefit from such a fresh and fragrant herb.  I finally settled on Tilapia as the lucky contender and decided that the accompaniments should reflect home (Sweet Corn-Grandma) and sweetness (Coconut Rice-From my Paleo diet adventures).  I also added a pot of steamed veggies for good measure.  One can never have enough green on a plate!  You’ll notice and love the lightly sweet, but savory taste of the Tilapia and appreciate the soft coconut flavor in the rice.  Buen provecho!

Rosemary-Tupelo Honey Tilapia
I started with all of the ingredients in a bowl, mixed together by hand to infuse the rosemary into the marinade.  Then washed and layered in the fish and let sit while I readied the sides.

2-5 small Tilapia filets (I buy them frozen and sit in lukewarm water to thaw for 10 minutes)
1/2 cup Extra Light Olive Oil
5 branches of fresh Rosemary
2 tablespoons of Crushed Garlic (if fresh Garlic, use 2 cloves)
2 tablespoons of Tupelo flower Honey (use a local honey if Tupelo is not available)
Freshly ground salt and pepper to taste

*Pour fish and marinade into a foil lined glass dish making sure to place fish close together instead of spreading them out.  Cover with foil to steam cook the fish in the oven on 425 degrees for 25 minutes or until juicy and fish flakes with fork

Sweet Corn
I purchased already shucked sweet corn in a package.

Place 4-5 ears of sweet corn into a large pot
Fill pot enough to cover corn and allow for room to boil rapidly
Drop 1/4 to 1/2 stick of salted real butter (or margarine) into water
Also pour in 1/2 cup of white or raw sugar

Boil for an hour or until kernels are crisp and juicy

Coconut Rice
Ok, I cheated here…I thawed out some rice I cooked a few months ago and froze.  I will put the ingredients and directions here, but thawed and microwaved, the rice came out just as fluffy as the day I cooked it!

1 cup of Basmati Rice rinsed (3 times with cold water) and drained
1 can of Coconut Milk, shake well and pour right onto rice in medium pot.
1/2 cup of water

Boil rice in Coconut Milk/Water broth until the top of the water meets the top of the rice.  Simmer on low, covered until rice is fluffy.  If rice is done to your liking in firmness, boil access water out with pot uncovered until the bottom crackles and water has evaporated (watch closely!)

Steamed Veggies (mix of fresh Cauliflower, Broccoli and Baby Carrots)
Another tip for the hard workers..I dropped mixed fresh veggies (they come mixed in a bag) into a pot and after rinsing them with cold water add water and steam.

2 cups fresh mixed veggies (frozen is ok too)
1/2 cup of water to bottom of pot
1 tablespoon of seasoning to sprinkle over top of veggies (I used Mrs. Dash Garlic and Herb, but salt and pepper will do)
3-4 square slices of butter to lay on top of some sturdy veggies (“the better to melt them with my dear!” – My villain ‘pun’ from Little Red Riding Hood)

Steam veggies until tender.  I overcooked mine this time because I wasn’t watching them….oops!  “How Fascinating!”

Always,

@AmBBitious

Leave a Reply

