Summer Squash Saute

Summer is almost here! June is right around the corner and I can’t wait to enjoy this one. Last summer I moved to Atlanta and I don’t think I really had the opportunity to enjoy the city. I was still moving and getting acquainted with my surroundings. This time around, I’m hoping to partake in all of the music, food, and fun the city has to offer. Since summer is on my mind, I decided to make this summer squash dish. I know it seems simple, but sometimes it’s the easy dishes that are the most difficult. I know there are moments when I come up with the perfect main course and have no idea what to pair it with.

  • 2 medium zucchini
  • 2 medium yellow squash
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

*I’m sure this would taste amazing with fresh spices, but I used what I had on hand.

Clean the squash and cut off the ends. Chop into 1/2 inch medallions. Place the chopped squash into a large mixing bowl. In a smaller mixing bowl, mix oil, salt, pepper, basil, oregano and garlic. Add to the squash and mix well.

Heat a large skillet to medium-high. Once hot, place the squash in the skillet. Stir until squash just begins to soften.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

