Juicing Review

So the juicing fad is over for me. I started the juicing process by easily transitioning into it. I followed the plan on Join the Reboot almost exactly. The breakdown was as follows:

Day 1-5: Strict vegan diet – vegetables/fruits/whole grains
Day 6-10: Eating and juicing fruits and vegetables
Day 7-9: Vegetable juice

At this point, I threw in the towel. My body was near giving up. I was exhausted, nauseous, and very, very weak. Granted, I was extremely active during the process. I was working and in the process of moving apartments. This mean I was working 10 hours a day and then going home to pack, move boxes, clean, etc. Although I was getting 6-7 hours of sleep a night, I wasn’t resting well. Certainly, this wasn’t enough, but I could barely get the mental clarity I needed to get through my work day. If it works for you, I highly recommend it. I’m not anti-juicing by any means; I just don’t think it’s right for me.

As with most fad diets, they don’t work. The best way to eat is as whole, clean, and real as possible…which leads me to my next project. 🙂 (I always have to be trying something, huh?) I’ve been steadily researching the paleo/primal and I love  the emphasis. It ACTUALLY makes sense. No starving, no counting calories, no fasting. Just eating unprocessed foods that are good for you and eliminating foods that are unnatural for our body to process – grains, legumes, chemicals, preservatives, etc. It’s a very individual approach as you have to figure out what works best for you, your body, your family, and your lifestyle. I’m still researching, but there is going to be a huge shift on this site to better-for-you, clean food. I apologize for the hiatus from posting, but health comes first.

Leave a Reply

