Pulled Pork

pork

This is my second attempt at pulled pork and I have to say, I think I like this one more than the last one. The last one was a lot more Latin in the flavor. I also think I used fattier meat, which isn’t my taste. The seasoning with this one is a lot more subtle, which makes pairing it with side dishes easy. As usual, the crock pot is the simplest method to make this. You just drop it in and leave it until you get home from work. I served it with roasted cabbage, which I will post once I’ve developed a better recipe. This last time was decent, but not quite spectacular yet.

  • 4 lb pork butt roast
  • 2 yellow onions, sliced
  • 3 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon dried parsley
  • 2 tsp sea salt

Mix all dry rub ingredients together.  Rub the entire roast with all the dry rub.  Place a layer of onions on the bottom of your slow cooker.  Place the roast on top.  Put the rest of the sliced onions on top of the slow cooker.  Cook the roast on high for 5 hours and then turn down to low for another 4 hours or until the roast is literally falling apart and easy to shred.

Leave a Reply

