Beef Pad See Ew

Between Aysha and I have really fallen off on uploading new recipes. I also realized, looking back at my post…they are almost all asian influenced. I guess Asian is my favorite genre of food to play with. I recently got a vegetable spiral slicer so I’ve been itching to use it….well carrots don’t make good ribbons on this particular type of slicer so I ended up using a y-peeler. What’s a y-peeler? A y-peeler is a lot like a traditional vegetable peeler but made thin wide ribbons and its easier to use. I used the traditional peeler to peel the carrots before I made the ribbons. This is truly a labor of love meal. My finger tips were slightly orange from all the carotene in the carrots.

Why use carrot ribbons instead rice noodles…well in keeping with paleo, I am trying everything. I made ginger beef and broccoli last week and the pictures look nearly identical, but they test extremely different. This meal was surprisingly filling. I have eaten some paleo meals and would be hungry hours later but oddly, all the chewing from the carrots and the amount of fiber in this meal is filling and if your not filled….keep eating the veggie to meat ratio is so high you”ll give up before you run out of food.

I hope you enjoy.

Modify it, change it, make it yours. Enjoy your paleo journey.

This recipe is adapter from Against All Grains

href=”https://alifeoflavor.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/20130730-225103.jpg”>20130730-225103.jpg

1.5 lbs of sirloin beef, thinly sliced
4cups of carrot ribbons
2 bunches of broccolini (Chinese broccoli, regular broccoli works fine too)
1/3cup coconut aminos
5 cloves of garlic, minced
1tsp red pepper powder
2table spoons of coconut sugar (or brown sugar)
Salt and pepper to taste

<a

Cook the beef until its about 8mins from done. Toss in your chopped broccoli so that it can steak while the steak continues to cook. Once your broccoli has become bright green, add the carrot ribbons. Adding them any sooner will result in soggy carrot ribbons. Let everything simmer together for about 3-4mins. Serve and sprinkle with sesame seeds if they are on hand.

Leave a Reply

