Squash Ice cream

Yeah I said it. Squash ice cream. Prepare for a mindblow. I recently tried a protein ice creamlike dessert Arctic Zero. There is a long list of reasons why its great but the best part is the entire pint is only 150 calories. I’ve had drinks that were 150 calories and not nearly as fulfilling So since that introduction I’ve been on a iced dessert finding frenzy. I was researching every type of paleo frozen dessert because to be honest the paleo baked goods haven’t been that good. At least a frozen dessert is easier to convince myself its almost the real sugar ridden deliciousness that I’ve steered away from lately. This is not a fast desert so plan accordingly.

Squash Ice Cream (for about quart of dessert)

image

  • 2 cups of butternut squash
  • 1 can of full fat coconut milk (13.5 oz)
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 2T Vanilla
  • 1T Almond extract
  • Coconut Oil
  • Salt

How to:

Peel and cube butternut squash. Toss in coconut oil and salt. Roast in the oven at 375 for at least 30minutes or until the squash is fork tender. The squash has to cool completely before it can go in the ice cream maker. I roasted the squash the night before and tossed it in the ice cream maker the next day. In a food processor or blender mix squash cubes, and remaining ingredients. Blend until smooth. You will end up with with a custard that is the consistency of pupmkin pie. Follow the manufacturers directions for the ice cream machine. Mine was ready to eat in about 40mins but I toss it in the freezer for another two hours (so I can eat dinner and have a more hard scoop consistency). Scoop and serve. Try topping with sliced almonds, coconut flakes, and a quick drizzle of maple syrup. Because my squash was so big I ended up with 4 cups of cubed squash, so this ice cream will be making a reappearance.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

