Nutrageous Muffins

Where to begin. This may actually be the most random recipe I’ve ever made. I have been craving chocolate oatmealy muffins. But trying to stick to paleo has me in a dilemma because I have been repulsed by a majority of the paleo baked goods. Maybe this is proof I haven’t completely bought into the paleo lifestyle because I like oats, sweets, and grains…but cest la vie. I’m writing this post before I even know if the muffins are good. Considering I’ve never used two of ingredients that are pretty important, I’m not sure the consistency, density, or texture…but Thomas Edison didn’t make the lightbulb in one try. They could be disgusting and find their way to my office for the students that really don’t know the difference. One thing I am anticipating is the results of very fibrous muffins…if you smell what I’m stepping in (pun intended). Ever dry ingredient is packed with fiber.

These muffins pack a heaping of 5grams of protein per muffin. The average egg is 6 grams of protein. Before the coconut oil the muffins were 157calories each. I’ll continue to look for ways to cut fat…but…it is good fat so that counts right? Almost complete nutrition information at the bottom.

ingredients
2 tbsp chia seeds
1tbsp flaxseed meal
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 tapioca flour
1tsp baking soda
1/2 cup coconut sugar
1/4 cup melted coconut oil(or butter)
1tsp vanilla extract
1cup chopped nuts (I used almonds and pecans)
3 eggs
1 tbsp almond butter
2 ripe bananas mashed
1/2 chocolate pieces (optional)

Mix mashed banana, almond butter, oil, eggs, vanilla, and coconut sugar in a medium size mixing bowl. In a another bowl mix all dry ingredients except nuts. Slowly mix dry ingredients into the wet ingredient bowl. Be sure to incorporate all the ingredients well. The consistency looks a little bit between cookie dough and cake batter. Spoon a heaping into lined muffin tins and bake on 350 degrees for 25mins. Poke with a toothpick. If the toothpick comes out clean the muffins are done.

Let cool and enjoy.

Nutritional iNformation
249 calories
26 carbs
16 fat grams
5 grams of protein
169 grams of sodium
5 grams of fiber
14 grams of iron
3 grams of sugar (without chocolate)

Leave a Reply

